LOG IN   |   Not a member?   BECOME A VIP
Home > Blogs
Golfer Assessed Four-Stroke Penalty After TV Viewer Calls In A Tip To The LPGA (Video)
Posted by Steve on April 04 2017
In what is one of the strangest sports rulings we've ever heard of, a viewer at home watching the LPGA ANA Inspiration tournament on Saturday noticed what they felt was an infraction by golfer Lexi Thompson.  They called the network to express what they had seen, and in what must be a first, officials reviewed the tape and assessed Thompson a penalty the following day!

On Saturday, Thompson picked up her ball on the green and placed a coin down in its spot.  But when she went to place the ball back down on the green, the placement wasn't exactly in the same spot.  After reviewing the tape, the LPGA deemed that the caller's tip was legit and Thompson was docked two strokes for the improper placement, and an additional two strokes for signing an improper scorecard.

Check out the video below to see what we're talking about here.  The ball was literally an inch to the side.  Should she have been penalized?  And should viewers at home be able to call in this kind of tip? 
Tags:  athletespenaltyrulessportswtf
Become a VIP!
More Blogs
Add a Comment
Stamps
Audio
Great Clips
Dumber Than The Show Trivia, 5/18
Dumber Than The Show Trivia, 5/11
Dumber Than The Show Trivia, 5/4
Dumber Than The Show Trivia, 4/27
Dumber Than The Show Trivia, 4/20
What Hot Wings Thinks
Watching Melania and Donald Trump
Big Game Hunter Killed by Elephant
Full Show Podcasts
May 23, 2017
May 22, 2017
May 19, 2017
May 18, 2017
May 17, 2017
Archives
Acquisition
Blue Apron
Dumber Than The Show Trivia
animals athletes awesome awful cars celebrities crazy crime fail fight food funny gross injury money music news police politics Segment 17 sports tech television VIP wtf
Radio Show